loading...Please wait while content is loading.

Following the successful hosting of the Olympics 2008 in Beijing, the focus once again will be on China, as the host of the 25th FIBA Asia Championship.

FIBA Asia organizes the event every alternate year, with I.R. Iran having won the Championship two years ago at Tokushima, Japan.

China will play host to the FIBA Asia Championship for the fourth time. China won the title on all the three previous occasions - Beijing 1989, Shanghai 2001 and Harbin 2003.

China hold the record for the most number of Championship wins - 14 times. Barring one occasion - in 2007 when they finished 10th, China have won a medal in all their previous 16 appearances.

Korea are the only team to have participated in all the 24 Championships so far. Korea are also the only team to have entered the semifinals in all the 24 Championships.

After Korea, Japan come next in terms of appearances - 23 times followed by Philippines with 22 appearances and India with 20 appearances.

In Tokushima 2007, Iran became the second country who won their first medal as the gold medal. China were the first to post such a record - when they won the title on debut in 1975 Bangkok.

Philippines have won the title five times followed by Korea and Japan twice each. Iran, of course won their maiden title in 2007.

Only two of the participants in 2009, didn't participate in the 2007 FIBA Asia Championship. Uzbekistan make a comeback after having played last in 2005 Doha. And Sri Lanka return to the FIBA Asia Championship after a 14-year hiatus. Sri Lanka last played in 1995 at Seoul.

The top three teams from Tianjin will qualify for 2010 FIBA World Championship to be held in Turkey.

China, Lebanon and Qatar were the FIBA Asia representatives, apart from the hosts, when Japan hosted the FIBA World Championship in 2006.

Live Statistics

Local Time:   (GMT +8)

Final Results
3rd Place
FIBA Daily Newsletter
Subscribe to our daily newsletter and get the latest basketball news directly into your mailbox.